PERFECT LOVE

Read Romans 5:1-11

Now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.
-1 Corinthians 13:13 (NIV)

SOME time ago, I saw an interview on television with an 83-year-old woman. She was asked about her long and interesting life as a politician and also about her private life. She was intelligent and clear in her answers. Finally, the interviewer asked about her Christian faith. The woman remained silent for a moment. Then she said, “My faith is a living part of my personality. It is my rod and my staff.” She continued, “I grew up with a strict father who was an old-fashioned Calvinist and regarded everything as sinful. But this is not how I know the Lord today. God is not a punishing God but full of love and righteousness.”

Her words caused me to examine my own faith. I can say that my faith gives me hope. Without faith, there is no hope. My faith also gives me assurance, even if I have doubts from time to time. I have no doubts when it comes to God or the Bible, but I wonder about myself. Am I good enough? Do I deserve the love of God? Then I remember the words from the interview and realize that I do not need to deserve God’s love. In the light of God’s grace, each one of us is accepted. God’s love embraces and welcomes us all.

Laila Geitz (Akershus, Norway)
Prayer
God of hope and joy, thank you for loving us as we are. Amen.

Leave a Reply

