Eyes to See

Eyes to See

Read Micah 6:6-8

What does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.
-Micah 6:8 (NIV)

ONE spring, our family made a trip to a large city to visit its wonderful museums. As we made our way down the street on our first cold morning there, we happened upon a homeless man, sleeping near a steam grate on the sidewalk. My younger son immediately asked me, “Why is he there?” As we walked past the man, I briefly explained to my son that the man did not have a home and that he slept near the grate to stay warm. Then I moved quickly ahead to the exciting adventures of the day. My son, however, truly saw the man, and the image made a lasting impression on his young mind and heart.

After we returned home, I listened to my son’s nightly prayers. He prayed for “people who had no home, who were cold and shivering on the street.” For months, he remembered homeless people in prayer. At the time, I was not doing anything concrete to help reach out to the poor. In our hometown, we do not have visible signs of poverty such as people sleeping on the street. But we do have hungry children in a local after-school program. Now I have joined others from my church to help prepare hot meals for these children. I am grateful that now I can show my son how love can go beyond words of prayer to become acts of mercy and kindness.

Anne Cole Aker (Virginia, U.S.A.)
Prayer
Open my eyes, Lord, to those around me who need a loving touch from you. Amen.

Thought for the Day
I can’t do everything, but I can do something.

Leave a Reply

